Archive for the ‘Announcement’ Category

August Meeting Cancelled

Tuesday, August 5th, 2014

The August 14 meeting is cancelled.



Tuesday, April 15th, 2014

Have you ever heard of the VGEA? The Virginia Government Employee Association is a non-profit association with thousands of active members throughout the Commonwealth working to protect the interests of the Commonwealth’s employees and retirees and to ensure that their needs are addressed. Check out more on their website:

Leadership UMW

Wednesday, April 9th, 2014

If you’re a full-time member of the UMW community looking for an adventure which will lead to practical working experience, apply for membership in the inaugural cohort for Leadership UMW. Here is an opportunity to improve your leadership skills while learning more about university operations from a business as well as an academic standpoint.

There is a commitment of two or three hours per month outside of your normal working schedule, and you must have at least two years of full time service here to apply. Meet those criteria? Now is the time to act!

Visit for more information and the online application.

Sharepoint Community Page

Tuesday, March 25th, 2014

Staff Advisory Council Sharepoint Community PageGet the latest Staff Advisory Council news and announcements on our Sharepoint Community Page. You will need to login using your UMW username and password to access the page.

We’re on Twitter

Tuesday, March 25th, 2014

@UMWSACCheck us out on twitter! Follow us @UMWSAC.

Staff Advisory Council Meeting Minutes, Feb. 20

Tuesday, February 25th, 2014

The Staff Advisory Council met last week and heard from President Richard Hurley on the latest happenings at UMW. Check out the full meeting minutes below. The next meeting is March 20 in Lee Hall, Room 412. All meetings are open to the greater UMW community.

S A C minutes 2014-02-20 general meeting  (PDF)

S.A.C. Accepting Nominations for Larry Atkins Award

Monday, February 17th, 2014
Larry Atkins

Larry Atkins

The Staff Advisory Council is now accepting nominations for the Larry Atkins award. This award recognizes UMW employees who are the unsung heroes of our offices.  New or seasoned employees, who work tirelessly, often with little formal recognition, can now be honored by their teammates and fellow co-workers. For more information or to submit a nomination, visit the human resources website.

Thank You, Facilities Services

Tuesday, February 4th, 2014

Letter of Commendation 27Jan14Staff Advisory Council commends the efforts of Facilities Services during the weather-related closing of the UMW Fredericksburg campus from Jan. 21 – 23, 2014. Despite severe cold weather, staff from the shops undertook the task of clearing and making safe for travel the steps, sidewalks, and roadways that connect the administrative buildings, academic buildings, and residence halls of this campus. Facilities’ efforts allowed resident students to continue making their way safely across campus.

Personnel from all shops were engaged around-the-clock in removing snow, chipping away ice accumulation, and spreading ice melt and sand by means of both manual and powered equipment. Those shops are:

Capital Outlay
Construction Services
Fleet Maintenance
General Maintenance
Landscape & Grounds

Coordinating the day-shift/night-shift work, and communicating the on-going needs for snow removal fell principally to three individuals: John Wiltenmuth, Associate VP for Facilities Services; Joni Wilson, Director of Landscape and Grounds; and Daniel Quann, Director of Maintenance. Without their efforts the snow removal work would not have been as effective, or as efficient in returning the university to active status.

On behalf of your Staff Advisory Council,

A. Leslie Johnson, Jr.
President, Staff Advisory Council

Elections – The Votes Are In!

Thursday, November 21st, 2013

The results for the 2013 Staff Advisory Council elections are in.  Here is the list of representatives elected for a three-year term beginning in January 2014 through December 2016.

Amy O’Reilly
Bethany Friesner
Daniel Nelson
Erika Spivey
John Symonds
Jonathan Maynard
Julie Smith
Kathleen Tillery
Pam Lowery
Vicki Sullivan

Congratulations to all the winners.  A special thank you to all the candidates for running in this year’s election and remember that 10 colleagues are up for election each year. Next year it could be YOU!

A list of current members can be found at

It’s Time to Vote!

Thursday, November 7th, 2013

Voting is now closed.  Look for results on the Elections page no later than 4:00pm, November 20.